Texas Transplanation Society Holds 29th Annual Scientific Meeting for the First Time In Its History in Fort Worth, Texas


Texas Transplantation Society Holds 29th Annual Scientific Meeting For the First Time in Its History in Fort Worth, Texas

Texas Transplantation Society (TTS) will hold its 29th Annual Scientific Meeting in Fort Worth at the Historic Hilton Hotel, July 28-31, 2016, the first time in its 30 year history.  The society holds an annual meeting each year for its members and other transplant professionals throughout Texas and Oklahoma.  Two more firsts, this is the first time the President is a nurse,  and the first time the President is from Fort Worth – Teresa Shafer, RN, MSN, CPTC.  Shafer, who will preside over the meeting said, “I never would have dreamed when starting my career in organ transplantation over thirty years ago in Fort Worth that I would be presiding as President over this prestigious society.  I helped establish the organ procurement organization in Fort Worth, starting in 1985 as a young nurse and was immediately drawn to the life-saving therapy of organ donation and transplantation.  The drama of death begetting life is hard to resist.  I am enormously proud of Fort Worth and humbled that Texas Transplantation Society is here this week for its world class meeting.”  Shafer will hand over the reins on the last day of the meeting to incoming President Elect, Matthias Peltz, MD, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas. 

Participants at the meeting will begin their experience in Fort Worth at the welcome reception where Fort Worth City Councilman Dennis Shingleton and Tarrant County Commissioner Gary Fickes will issue proclamations welcoming Texas Transplantation Society to Fort Worth.  The CEOs of Fort Worth and Tarrant County’s five members of the Organ Procurement Transplant Network (OPTN) will join Councilman Shingleton and Commissioner Fickes in welcoming the participants.  The OPTN members are Baylor Scott & White All Saints Medical Center, Janice Whitmire, CEO; Cook Children’s Medical Center, Nancy Cychol, CEO; Plaza Medical Center of Fort Worth, Clay Franklin, CEO; THR Harris Methodist Hospital, Lillie Biggins, CEO and LifeGift, Kevin Myer, CEO.

Keynote speakers include A. Benedict Cosimi, MD, Chief Emeritus of Transplantation, Massachusetts General Hospital, Claude E. Welch Distinguished Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School.  Dr. AB Cosimi will deliver the Goran B. Klintmalm Lectureship.  Dr. Cosimi’s surgical pioneering accomplishments and life-long commitment to scientific advancement in the field of transplantation and surgery are legendary and his most recent efforts have been directed towards defining an immunosuppressive approach that provides donor-specific tolerance of the transplant. 

Christian P. Larsen, MD, DPhil, Dean of Emory University School of Medicine, Vice President for Health Center Integration for the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center, and Chairman of the Board of Directors of The Emory Clinic will present the Paul Peters Honorary Lecture at the 29th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Texas Transplantation Society.  Larsen is an internationally recognized leader in transplant surgery and immunology.  His clinical practice is focused on kidney, pancreas, and islet transplantation at Emory University Hospital and Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta.

The Texas Transplant Society is a professional medical society which focuses on all areas of solid organ transplantation, as well as bone marrow transplantation.  This two and one-half day meeting, the 2016 Annual Scientific Meeting of the Texas Transplantation Society, encompasses topics in solid organ transplantation (i.e. kidney, liver, lung, heart, and pancreas) as well as bone marrow transplantation, histocompatibility and immunology. The audience includes physicians, surgeons, scientists and non-physician health care providers, such as transplant and procurement coordinators, laboratory staff, social workers, physician assistants and transplant administrators. Some of the specialties involved include: nephrology, urology, cardiology and cardiothoracic surgery, pulmonology, hepatology, endocrinology, and immunology. Anyone who cares for transplant patients is invited to attend, in order to improve patient care. The meeting is regional in scope. While most of the members of the society are from one of the 30 transplant programs in Texas and Oklahoma, non-members are also invited to attend, and the audience will include participants from surrounding states.  Texas Transplantation society currently has approximately 850 physicians / scientists, transplant and procurement coordinators, non- physicians, laboratory staff, social workers, physician assistants and transplant administrators.

The date of the 29th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Texas Transplantation Society is July 28-31, 2016 and will be held at the Historic Hilton Hotel in Fort Worth, Texas. 


Texas Transplantation Society (TTS) is a 501c6 non-profit organization that seeks to advance transplantation and organ donation throughout Texas, promoting the savings of lives through organ donation and transplantation.  The society is actively involved in supporting both federal and state legislation that improves or saves the lives of transplant recipients.    To learn more about donation and transplantation, as well as to sign up to be an organ, tissue, or eye donor, please visit www.transplanttexas.org.


 Laurie Reece, Executive Director

Texas Transplantation Society
Cell (512) 461-1977
Fax (419) 740-5579

Office Phone (512) 961-6532

The Voice of Transplantation in Texas

Connect with us: